About Us

Board

The WECAN Board is composed of experienced early childhood educators from throughout North America. The Board has a four-day annual meeting each November and an additional meeting in the spring. Its various committees—Finance, Personnel, Board Committee, Conference Planning, Diversity Equity Inclusion and Access, Outreach and Public Policy, Membership, Teacher Education, Birth to Three and Publications—are active throughout the year in a number of ways.

Board members and other WECAN colleagues participate in our WECAN Working Groups to deepen aspects of our educational work and share the results through WECAN Books, the Gateways newsletter and through conferences and regional gatherings. The Board also acts as an organ of perception for the needs of the Waldorf early childhood movement and collaborates with AWSNA (the Association of Waldorf Schools of North America) the Alliance for Public Waldorf Education (APWE), and a number of other organizations with similar goals and ideals in service of childhood. Two board members act as WECAN representatives on the council of the International Association for Steiner Waldorf Early Childhood Education (IASWECE), based in Switzerland. 

The current members of the Board are: Louise deForest (Chair), Heather Church, Adrienne Doucette, Keelah Helwig, Susan Howard, Ruth Ker, Gabriela Nuñez Plata, Anjum Mir, Holly Koteen-Soule, and Magdalena Toran.

Heather-Church

Heather Church, Treasurer
Ontario, Canada
view bio

Louise-deForest

Louise deForest, Chairperson and Secretary
Mill River, MA
view bio

Adrienne-Doucette

Adrienne Doucette
Bellingham, WA
view bio

Keelah-Helwig

Keelah Helwig
Long Island, New York
view bio

Susan-Howard

Susan Howard
Amherst, MA
view bio

Ruth-Ker

Ruth Ker
Duncan, BC
view bio

Holly-Koteen-Soule

Holly Koteen-Soulé
Seattle, WA
view bio

Anjum-Mir-II

Anjum Mir
Los Angeles, CA
view bio

Gabriela-Nunez-Plata-II

Gabriela Nuñez Plata
Cuernavaca, Mexico
view bio

Magdalena-Toran

Magdalena Toran
MA
view bio

Regional Representatives

Experienced Waldorf educators in each region are invited by the Board to serve as WECAN Regional Representatives. On a volunteer basis, they help to assist organizations on their steps on the membership path, contact members to explore activities and issues of concern, facilitate collaboration within the region, act as a speaking partner to the AWSNA regional representative, and make recommendations to the WECAN Membership Committee regarding applications for membership and the evolving Membership Handbook.
For a list of regional representatives and staff contact information, click here.

Staff and Project Leaders

WECAN Coordinator ~ Susan Howard, Amherst, MA  showard@waldorfearlychildhood.org
Administrator ~ Melissa Lyons, Spring Valley, NY  mlyons@waldorfearlychildhood.org
Communications Coordinator ~ Lara Radysh, Shelburne Falls, MA  communications@waldorfearlychildhood.org
Membership Coordinator ~ Laura Mason, Issaquah, WA  membership@waldorfearlychildhood.org
Membership Office Administrator ~ Rachel Mason, Issaquah, WA  ofcmembership@waldorfearlychildhood.org
Teacher Education Coordinator ~ Ruth Ker, Duncan, BC  teachered@waldorfearlychildhood.org


WECAN BOOKS AND PUBLICATIONS
Publications Coordinator ~ Donna Miele, Spring Valley, NY  publications@waldorfearlychildhood.org
Gateways Editor ~ Nancy Blanning, Denver, CO  nblanning@waldorfearlychildlhood.org
Gateways Managing Editor ~ Lory Widmer, Villeret, Switzerland  lwidmer@waldorfearlychildhood.org
Shipping ~ Zachary Dolphin, Spring Valley, NY  shipping@waldorfearlychildhood.org

BIRTH TO THREE
Co-Coordinator ~ Heather Church, Gores Landing, ONT  hchurch@waldorfearlychildhood.org 
Co-Coordinator ~ Magdalena Toran, Conway, MA  mtoran@waldorfearlychildhood.org

INCLUSION, DIVERSITY, EQUITY AND ACCESS
Co-Coordinator ~ Lynn Turner, Chestnut Ridge, MD  lturner@waldorfearlychildhood.org 
Co-Coordinator ~ Leslie Wetzonis-Woolverton, Silver Spring MD  lwetzoniswoolverton@waldorfeaarlychildhood.org

WECAN CONFERENCES
Conference Administrator ~ Andrea Cooper, Amherst, MA  conference@waldorfearlychildhood.org
East Coast Conf.Coordinator ~ Andrea Gambardella, Spring Valley, NY  agambaardella@waldorfearlychildhood.org
NW Conference Co-Coordinator ~ Dyanne Harshman, Langley,  WA  nwconference@waldorfearlychildhood.org

©2022 Waldorf Early Childhood Association of North America. All rights reserved.